AGHE Awards

Article Index

Hiram J. Friedsam Mentorship Award

Purpose of the Award

Hiram J. Friedsam was a professor, co-founder, and director of the Center for Studies in Aging and Dean of the School of Community Service at the University of North Texas. The University of North Texas established the first gerontology program in the state of Texas and one of the first in the nation. He was an outstanding teacher, researcher, colleague, and mentor to students, faculty, and administrators, and a past-president of AGHE. The purpose of this award is to recognize those who emulate Dr. Friedsam's excellence in mentorship.

The awardee receives an engraved plaque, $500 cash award (dependent upon funding), and delivers a lecture on mentoring at the GSA Annual Scientific Meeting.

Eligibility Criteria

Nominees must have contributed to gerontological and/or geriatrics education through excellence in mentorship to students, faculty, or administrators and have advanced the goals and mission of the Academy for Gerontology in Higher Education. At the time of the nomination, the nominee must be affiliated with an AGHE member institution.


The AGHE Awards Committee will review nomiantions and select an awardee.   


To be considered for the award, the nominator must submit, a nominations packet that includes a primary letter of nomination, a maximum of four supporting letters of nomination, a copy of the nominee's curriculum vitae, and a headshot.

Nomination Process

Nomination submission closed on March 31, 2019.

Submission Deadline

March 31, 2019

Past Recipients

2018 Phillip G. Clark | University of Rhode Island
2017 Kelvin J. A. Davies | University of Southern California
2016 Jan Abushakrah | Portland Community College
2015 Jennifer C. Mendez | Wayne State University
2014 Nina M. Silverstein | University of Massachusetts Boston
2013 Lesa Lorenzen Huber | Indiana University
2012 Marilyn R. Gugliucci | University of New England
2011 Dena Shenk | University of North Carolina Charlotte
2010 David A. Chiriboga | University of South Florida
2009 Suzanne R. Kunkel | Miami University

Share This Page!

Print Page