AGHE Awards

Article Index

Mildred M. Seltzer Distinguished Service Honor

Purpose of the Honor

The Mildred M. Seltzer Distinguished Service Honor is presented annually by AGHE to honor colleagues who are near retirement or recently retired.

Recipient(s) receive a personalized certificate at the AGHE Business Meeting at the GSA Annual Meeting.

Eligibility Criteria

Recipients are individuals who have been actively involved in AGHE through service on committees, as elected officers, or have provided leadership in one of AGHE's grant-funded projects. At the time of the nomination, the nominee must be affiliated with an AGHE member institution.


Nominees will be reviewed and honoree(s) selected by the AGHE Awards Committee. Multiple honors may be given annually.


To be considered for this honor, the nominator must submit, a nominations packet that includes a copy of the nominee's curriculum vitae.

Nomination Process

Submit using the online nominations portal by July 31.

Past Recipients

Sandra L. McGuire | University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Harvey L. Sterns | The University of Akron
Edwin Rosenberg | Appalachian State University
Graham D. Rowles | University of Kentucky

Bradley J. Fisher | Missouri State University
Beryl D. Goldman | Kendal Outreach, LLC
Jim P. Mitchell | East Carolina University
Maureen E. Power | Worcester State College
Kathy A. Segrist | Ball State University
Sue Ward | American River College

Barbara Gillogly | American River College
Lynne Hodgson | Quinnipiac University
Bob G. Knight | University of Southern California
Leslie A. Morgan | University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Sheldon "Shelly" Steinhauser | Metropolitan State University of Denver

Dena Shenk | University of North Carolina Charlotte
Eleanor Krassen Covan | University of North Caroline Wilmington

Harry "Rick" Moody | AARP
Sally M. Newman | University of Pittsburgh

Alton C. Dubois | Concordia University Chicago

William J. McAuley | George Mason University
Leonard W. Poon | University of Georgia
Paul A. Roodin | SUNY Oswego

Betty D. Dodson | University of Nevada, Reno
Lisa Groger | Miami University
John A. Krout | Ithaca College
Betsy M. Sprouse | AARP

C. Joanne Grabinski | Eastern Michigan University
Mary Alice Wolf | Saint Joseph College

Stephen J. Cutler | University of Vermont
Althea Taylor-Jones | Winston-Salem State University

John A. Belzer | University of Oklahoma
Elizabeth B. Douglass | University of Maryland Baltimore County
Iris A. Parham | Virginia Commonwealth University
Novella Perrin | University of Central Missouri
Charles Schmidtke | Canisius College
Anthony Traxler | Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville

May Futrell | University of Massachusetts
Phoebe S. Liebig | University of Southern California
Joan Wood | University of California, San Francisco

Robert N. Gandee | Slippery Rock University
Gloria Heinemann | University at Buffalo, SUNY
William Lane | SUNY Cortland
Edward E. Morgan, Jr. | Bowling Green State University
David L. Treybig | Baldwin-Wallace College
Derrel R. Watkins | Saint Paul School of Theology

Sara Aleman | Northern Arizona University
Steven Applewhite | University of Houston
William E. Arnold | Arizona State University
Susan J. Eklund | Indiana University
Nancy Gabrielsen | Slippery Rock University
Jo Ann Luckie | Del Mar College
Gwen Yeo | Stanford University

Share This Page!

Print Page