AGHE Awards

Article Index


Book Award for Best Children's Literature on Aging

Purpose of the Award

The purpose of the AGHE Book Award for Best Children’s Literature on Aging is to recognize positive portrayals of older adults in children’s literature; the Award is given every other year.

Following the selection of the recipients, the K-12 Gerontology Education Interest Group shall send announcement letters to both the American Library Association and the Illinois University School of Library Science Center for Children’s Books. Announcement letters will be sent to the publisher of the Honoree and Honorable Mention books and the Committee will work with the publishers to inform the authors and to affix the AGHE Book Award seal to the books.

Eligibility Criteria

There will be two categories:(a) Primary Reader (pre K—2) and (b) Elementary Reader (3—5 grade).  There will be one “Honoree” and one “Honorable Mention” in each category.

Nomination Process

The Chair of the AGHE K-12 Committee shall appoint a chair and 2—3 members to serve on a Children’s Book Award Subcommittee. The chair of this Subcommittee will be a member of the AGHE Awards Committee.

The Children’s Book Award Subcommittee will identify books in the Primary Reader and the Elementary Reader categories that address aging from the lists of the previous year’s honorees selected by the American Library Association (published in January) and the Illinois University School of Library Science Center for Children’s Books (published in February). The Subcommittee will further solicit nominations of books in both categories from AGHE members through the AGHExchange and other communication avenues. It will inform publishers of the nominated books about the awards-selection process and request a review copy for each member of the Children’s Book Award Subcommittee. This letter must be approved by the AGHE Awards Committee and AGHE President prior to it being sent.

The Children’s Book Award Subcommittee will review the nominations. Each member of the Subcommittee will read each book and rate it on a scale of 3 (1 = Poor, 2 = Acceptable, and 3 = Outstanding) on these five criteria:

a. Portrayal of meaningful aging
b. Portrayal of positive intergenerational relations
c. Diversity e.g, gender, race, ethnicity, disability
d. Appeal
e. Realism of story line

Children’s Book Award Subcommittee members will be expected to excuse themselves from the judging if they have a conflict of interest related to any of the nominated books, and a replacement will be identified from the K-12 Committee.

The chair of the Children’s Book Award Subcommittee shall tabulate the ratings to determine the rankings. The Honoree and Honorable Mention awards will be given respectively to the books with the highest and second highest ratings in each category. The results will be shared with the K-12 Committee and the AGHE Awards Committee before being forwarded to the AGHE Executive Committee for approval.

Submission Deadline

March 31, 2020

Past Recipients

2019 Not Awarded

PRIMARY READER: It’s Just Aging by Eliah Takushi, Carly Tan, and Colby Takeda
ELEMENTARY READER: Hour of the Bees by Lindsay Eagar

2017 Not Awarded

PRIMARY READER: Papa Chagall, Tell Us a Story by Laurence Anholt
ELEMENTARY READER: The Turtle of Oman by Naomi Shihab Nye
HONORABLE MENTION: Nana in the City by Lauren Castillo

2015 Not Awarded

PRIMARY READER: Shoebox Sam by Mary Brigid Barrett
ELEMENTARY READER: Marching with Aunt Susan: Susan B. Anthony and the Fight for Women's Suffrage by Claire Rudolph Murphy

2013-2012 Not Awarded

PRIMARY READER: Sometimes It's Grandmas and Grandpas: Not Mommies and Daddies by Gayle Byrne

PRIMARY READER: Niwechihaw/I Help by Caitlin Dale Nicholson
ELEMENTARY READER: Ain't Nobody A Stranger to Me by Ann Grifalconi and Jerry Pickney

PRIMARY READER: Rock, Brock and the Savings Shock by Sheila Bair
ELEMENTARY READER: The Golden Rule by Ilene Cooper

Share This Page!

Print Page