The Academy for Gerontology in Higher Education Honors New Officers, Fellows, Awardees

For Immediate Release
February 13, 2017

Contact: Todd Kluss
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
(202) 587-2839

The Academy for Gerontology in Higher Education (AGHE) — the educational branch of The Gerontological Society of America — is proud to announce its newest elected officers, fellows, and awardees. The installation of the officers and presentation of the awards will occur at AGHE’s 43rd Annual Meeting and Educational Leadership Conference, taking place from March 9 to 12 at the Miami Marriott Dadeland in Miami, Florida. This event provides a forum for professionals in the field of aging to present their work and share ideas about gerontological and geriatric education and training. Visit for complete details.

These individuals are responsible for matters of governance and strategic planning for the organization.

Judith L. Howe, PhD, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Hallie E. Baker, PhD, Muskingum University
Elizabeth J. Bergman, PhD, Ithaca College

AGHE fellow status is an honor that recognizes outstanding leadership in gerontology and geriatrics education by established scholars and educators.

Pamela P. Brown, PhD, Albany State University
Kara B. Dassel, PhD, University of Utah
Cynthia R. Hancock, PhD, University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Clark Tibbitts Award
Presented to JoAnn Damron-Rodriguez, LCSW, PhD, University of California, Los Angeles
Friday, March 10, 4:30 p.m.
This award was established in 1980 to recognize individuals who and organizations that have made outstanding contributions to the advancement gerontology as a field of study in institutions of higher education.

Hiram J. Friedsam Mentorship Award
Presented to Kelvin J. A. Davies, PhD, DSc, University of Southern California
Saturday, March 11, 8:30 a.m.
This award, named for an outstanding mentor in gerontology, is given to an individual who has contributed to gerontological education through excellence in mentorship to students, faculty, and administrators.

Distinguished Faculty Award
Presented to Judith A. Sugar, PhD, University of Nevada, Reno
Friday, March 10, 8:30 a.m.
This award recognizes persons whose teaching stands out as exemplary, innovative, of impact, or any combination thereof.

Rising Star Early Career Faculty Award
Presented to Özgür Arun, PhD, Akdeniz University
Friday, March 10, 8:30 a.m.
This award recognizes new faculty whose teaching and/or leadership stands out as impactful and innovative.

David A. Peterson Gerontology & Geriatrics Education Best Paper of the Volume Award
Presented to Tina M. Kruger, PhD, Indiana State University and Andrew J. Pearl, PhD, University of North Georgia for “Beyond Assessment: Conducting Theoretically Grounded Research on Service-Learning in Gerontology Courses”
Friday, March 10, 5:30 p.m.
The purpose of this award is to recognize excellence in scholarship in academic gerontology in AGHE’s official journal, Gerontology & Geriatrics Education.

Student Leadership Award
Presented to Colleen R. Bennett, MS, MA, PhD(c), University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Friday, March 10, 5:30 p.m.
This award recognizes students whose leadership has advanced the goals and mission of AGHE as well as the respective goals of their AGHE-affiliated institutions.

Graduate Student Paper Award
Presented to Sara J. English, LMSW, MSW, University of South Carolina
Friday, March 10, 5:30 p.m.
This award recognizes excellence in scholarly work by a student at an AGHE member institution who presents his or her work at the annual meeting.

Administrative Leadership Honor
Presented to John R. Bartle, PhD, University of Nebraska, Omaha; J. Kevin Eckert, PhD, University of Maryland, Baltimore County; and Danielle R. Ripich, PhD, University of New England
Friday, March 10, 5:30 p.m.
This award, honors administrators on AGHE member campuses who have made exceptional efforts in support of gerontology or geriatrics education.

Part-Time/Adjunct Faculty Honor
Friday, March 10, 5:30 p.m.
Presented to Robert S. Anderson Jr., MD, University of New England; Lisa A. Kendall, LCSW-R, CSW-G, Ithaca College; and Robin Sherman, MSM, University of Massachusetts Boston
This award recognizes part-time and/or adjunct faculty for their contributions to gerontological education at an AGHE member institution.

Mildred M. Seltzer Distinguished Service Honor
Presented to Bradley J. Fisher, PhD, Missouri State University; Beryl D. Goldman, PhD, RN, NHA, Kendal Outreach, LLC; Jim P. Mitchell, PhD, East Carolina University; Maureen E. Power, PhD, Worcester State University; Kathy A. Segrist, PhD, Ball State University; and Sue Ward, American River College
Friday, March 10, 5:30 p.m.
This award honors colleagues who are near retirement or recently retired. Recipients are individuals who have been actively involved in AGHE through service on committees, as elected officers, and/or have provided leadership in one of AGHE’s grant-funded projects.


The Academy for Gerontology in Higher Education (AGHE) is the educational unit of The Gerontological Society of America, the nation’s oldest and largest interdisciplinary organization devoted to research, education, and practice in the field of aging. AGHE seeks to advance gerontology as a field of study at institutions of higher education through conferences, publications, technical assistance, research studies, and consultation with policy makers. It is currently the only institutional member organization dedicated to gerontology and geriatrics education worldwide.

Share This Page!

Print Page