The Gerontological Society of America (GSA) fosters new ideas, recognizes leadership in gerontological teaching and service, and salutes both outstanding and potential research through a host of awards. The Society's awards program has a dual purpose; honoring outstanding leaders in the field of gerontology and focusing attention on new developments in the area of aging. In a way, the Society's award recipients serve as milestones in the history and development of gerontology.

The multidisciplinary breadth of the Society's membership is reflected in the awards maintained by GSA. Some awards honor outstanding achievement in gerontology irrespective of discipline, other awards are limited to each of the Society's four sections or disciplines; Biological Sciences, Behavioral and Social Science, Health Sciences, and Social Research, Policy, and Practice. What follows is a listing of all awards given or administered by the Society. They are of two types, Society-wide awards and Section awards. The latter are reviewed by the sections of the Society.

The following awards are open for nominations July 22-August 19, 2020.

Click the links below for more information and access to the online application:

Student and Early Career Awards

The Academy for Gerontology in Higher Education

Behavioral and Social Sciences

Biological Sciences

Health Sciences


Mid-Career and Established Career Awards

The Academy for Gerontology in Higher Education

Health Sciences

For more information about additional GSA awards, click below:

Additionally, there is a complete list of awardees

For more information, please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Share This Page!

Print Page