AGHE Awards - Part-Time/Adjunct Faculty Honor

Article Index

Part-Time/Adjunct Faculty Honor

Purpose of the Honor

Nationwide, reliance on part-time and/or adjunct faculty to teach gerontology and/or geriatrics courses is very high. Without the efforts and dedication of these individuals, often at extremely low compensation, gerontology and geriatrics programs might not be able to deliver a full curriculum. Accordingly, AGHE invites you to nominate one of these individuals so that he/she might be formally honored for contributions to gerontology and/or geriatrics education at your institution.

Recipient(s) receive a personalized certificate at the AGHE Breakfast at the GSA Annual Meeting. 

This is an honor rather than a competitive award. Those nominated are not required to attend the GSA Annual Meeting.

Submission Period

Online application portal will open June 27, 2023.

Eligibility Criteria

Each member institution may nominate one part-time/adjunct faculty member per year.

  • Nominees should demonstrate high quality teaching as documented by peer and/or student evaluations.
  • Nominees should also demonstrate a long-term commitment (at least five years) to gerontology and/or geriatrics education both in the classroom and beyond.
  • Full-time faculty are not eligible to receive this award even if their gerontology and/or geriatrics assignments are part-time.
  • Affiliated with an AGHE institution or GSA member with AGHE designated as a primary or secondary section.

This is a honor rather than a competitive award. Those nominated are not required to attend the GSA Annual Meeting or be active members of AGHE.

Nomination Process

Required Nomination Packet Materials

  • A single nomination letter signed by at least 3 supporters that should include the following:
    • Courses taught by nominee
    • How long the nominee has taught at your institution
    • Any other forms of service to the department/program (excluding teaching)
    • What makes this person deserving of this honor?
  • A current Curriculum Vitae or Resume with information relevant to the award highlighted.

Nature of the Award 

The recipient receives a framed certificate and is recognized during the AGHE Business Meeting at the GSA Annual Meeting. 

Past Recipients

2022 Joe DeMattos | University of Maryland Baltimore County; Josh Johnson | University of Southern California
2021 Karon L. Phillips | Trust for America's Health, University of Maryland Baltimore County, University of Maryland Global Campus
2021 Katie Kutcher | University of North Carolina, Charlotte
2020 Mary Frances DeRose | University of Massachusetts Boston
2019 Vincent Bisson | Lasell College, Georgene R. Nitzsche | Univeristy of Indianapolis
2018 Roger Anunsen | Portland Community College and Amanda P. Weber | Towson University
2017 Robert S. Anderson Jr. | University of New England, Lisa A. Kendall | Ithaca College and Robin Sherman | University of Massachusetts Boston
2016 Gregory D. Bearce | University of Southern California
2014 Victoria S. Thieme | University of New England, Judith Griffin | University of Massachusetts Boston and Barbara Hughes Leasure | Carroll Lutheran Village
2013 David Oliver | University of Missouri-Columbia
2012 Reeve Lipworth Goldhaber | Boston University and Louise M. Murray | University of North Carolina Charlotte
2011 Charlotte Paolini | University of New England
2009 Darlene Heian | Utica College
2008 Christa Caldarale-Ahern | The Richard Stockton College of New Jersey and Catherine Ivy | Georgia State University
2007 Anne Summer | University of New England, John Hogan | Oregon State University and Marilynn G. Goering | Madonna University
2006 Kaye Herzer | Spokane Falls Community College

Share This Page!

Print Page