AGHE Awards

Article Index

Distinguished Faculty Award

Purpose of the Award

The Distinguished Faculty Award recognizes persons whose teaching stands out as exemplary, innovative, of impact, or any combination thereof. The Distinguished Faculty Awardee will provide a lecture at the GSA Annual Meeting.

Note: Those nominated must be willing and able to attend the GSA Annual Meeting and present a lecture during the meeting.

Eligibility Criteria

Full-time faculty members at an AGHE affiliated institution with a minimum of five years of teaching experience are eligible to be nominated for this award.


The AGHE Awards Committee will review nomiantions and select an awardee.


The nominator is responsible for submitting:

1. Letter of Nomination: The letter should address the purpose and qualifications of the Distinguished Faculty Nominee. The letter should emphasize teaching, rather than research, professional activity, or public service (unless those activities bear directly on teaching excellence). Maximum: 2 pages.

2. Letters of Support: A minimum of two letters of support should be collected from colleagues of the Distinguished Faculty Nominee (within and/or outside his/her current institution; current and/or past undergraduate and/or graduate students; and/or representatives of the institutional administration). Maximum: 2 pages each.

3. Curriculum Vitae

Nominators are encouraged to work closely with nominees to ensure the strongest and most complete nomination package possible. Self-nominations are not permitted.

Nomination Process

Nomination submission closed on March 31, 2019.

Submission Deadline

March 31, 2019

Past Recipients

2018  Phyllis A. Greenberg | St. Cloud State University
2017  Judith A. Sugar | University of Nevada, Reno
2016  Elizabeth M. Zelinski | University of Southern California
2015  Graham D. Rowles | University of Kentucky
2014  Cynthia Hancock | University of North Carolina Charlotte
2012  Leslie A. Morgan | University of Maryland, Baltimore County and Jennifer R. Sasser | Maryhurst University
2011  Eleanor Covan | University of North Carolina Wilmington and Mary B. Ligon | York College of Pennsylvania
2010  Karen A. Hooker | Oregon State University and Rona J. Karasik | Saint Cloud State University
2009  Laura K. Donorfio | University of Connecticut and Karen F. Kopera-Frye | University of Nevada, Reno
2008  Dana Burr Bradley | Western Kentucky University and E. Ayn Welleford | Virginia Commonwealth University
2007  Robert M. Beland | University of Florida and Darlene Yee-Melichar | San Francisco State University

Share This Page!

Print Page