GSA Elections

Your Vote, Your Society!

GSA is a member-based organization and its elected leaders help shape the future of the Society. Voting is a member benefit and an important duty of all GSA members. We hope you will take the opportunity to exercise this special privilege.

How do I vote?

Elections are held June 10-July 1, 2020. Instructions on how to cast your ballot online are sent via e-mail.

Who votes?

All members of GSA in good standing as of June 10 are entitled to vote for society-wide officers. All members who have designated a primary section are entitled to vote for officers of that section. Members must have a valid e-mail address.  Members who have unsubscribed from previous votes in the online voting platform will not receive a ballot.

To verify your section and e-mail address on file with the Society, log in to the GSA website, select “My Account” in the upper right hand corner, choose “My GSA Dashboard,” and then "Update My Profile."

Candidate Information

The 2020 Election Guide contains all biographical sketches and candidate statements for the positions below. To learn more about each position's roles and responsibilities reference the 2020 Nominations Guide.

GSA Board of Directors Slate (society-wide elections)

Candidates are listed in alphabetical order.


Steven M. Albert, PhD, MS, MA, FGSA

Peter A. Lichtenberg, PhD, ABPP, FGSA


George E. Taffet, M.D., FGSA, FACP

LaDora V. Thompson, PhD, PT, FGSA

Board Member Position 1

Patricia C. Heyn, M.S., PhD, FGSA, FACRM

Peter Martin, PhD, FGSA

Board Member Position 2

Marie Boltz PhD, GNP-BC, FGSA, FAAN

Carmen Sceppa, MD, PhD, FGSA

Board Member Position 3

Rajean P. Moone, PhD, LNHA, FGSA

Elizabeth Vásquez, DrPH

GSA Section Leadership

Candidates are listed in alphabetical order.

Academy for Gerontology in Higher Education Chair

Kara B. Dassel, PhD, FAGHE, FGSA

Joann M. Montepare, PhD, FGSA, FAGHE

Behavioral and Social Sciences Section Chair

Shannon E. Jarrott, Ph.D., FGSA

Daniel K. Mroczek, PhD, FGSA

Biological Sciences Section Chair

Rozalyn M. Anderson, PhD, FGSA

Alan A. Cohen, PhD, FGSA

Emerging Scholar and Professional Organization Chair

Kalisha Bonds, PhD, RN, PMHNP-BC

Francesca Falzarano, PhD

Health Sciences Section Chair

Thomas W. Buford, PhD, FGSA

Kirsten N. Corazzini, PhD, FGSA

Social Research, Policies, and Practice Section Chair

Debra Dobbs, PhD, FGSA

Walter Dawson, PhD

2019 Election Timeline

June 10-July 1, 2020 – Voting period for 2020 election

 Mid July 2020 – Election results for 2020 announced

 January 2021 – Elected candidates begin term

Please direct all questions to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..